Skip Navigation


Four seniors recognized as National Merit Scholarship Commended Students

September 27, 2021
By Carroll High School
The National Merit Scholarship Corporation named four Carroll High School members of the Class of 2022 as Commended Scholars.

Four members of the Carroll High School Class of 2022 added their names to the list of Patriots who earned recognition in the National Merit Scholarship program.

Vivian Dao, Claire LaMelle, Shannon McIntyre, and Max Weitz were named Commended Students by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) and received a Letter of Commendation in honor of this accomplishment.  The NMSC honored approximately 34,000 high school seniors nationwide with this distinction, and these students placed in the top 50,000 of students who entered the 2022 National Merit Scholarship competition by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

Including these four students, Carroll High School has educated 109 Patriots who earned distinction as National Merit Scholarship Finalists, Semifinalists, or Commended Students since 2008.

"Those being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success," the NMSC said in a release.  "These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of education excellence in our nation.  We hope that this recognition will help broaden their education opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success."