2014 National Merit Program Honors

<< Back

2014 National Merit Program Honors

Patrick Fleisher, Dante Haponek, Sally Kozar, Kristina Hollkamp, Karen Hildebrant, Jacob Ollier, Wesley Holmes, Alex Trimbach

Over 1.5 million students took the 2012 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test last October and entered the National Merit Program, a nationwide competition for recognition and awards conducted by National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC).  In April, the 50,000 highest scorers were identified to high schools.  Some 16,000 of those high performers were recently designated Semifinalists on a state representational basis.  Semifinalists have an opportunity to continue in the Merit Scholarship competition and advance to Finalist standing by meeting a number of additional requirements.  Four Carroll High School’s students achieved this honor:  Karen Hildebrant, Kristina Hollkamp, Jacob Ollier and Alexander Trimbach.

The other 34,000 high performers are being named Commended Students on the basis of a national Selection Index score of 203, applicable to all program participants without regard to state-by-state distribution.  Participants who scored at or above the commended level, but below their state or selection unit’s Semifinalist qualifying score, are Commended Students.  Commended students are recognized for the exceptional academic promise demonstrated by their outstanding performance on the qualifying test used for program entry.  Four Carroll High School students achieved this honor:  Patrick Fleisher, Dante Haponek, Wesley Holmes and Sally Kozar.

We congratulate these Patriots on this exceptional academic achievement!