Band directors from 1961 until present include the following:

  • Sr. M. Eugenio, SND, 1962-1964
  • Sr. Mary Barbara Rose, SND, 1964-1968
  • Mr. Robert Loeber, 1968-1970
  • Mr. David Luzio, 1970-1984
  • Mr. Jeffrey Kniess, 1984-1989
  • Mr. Kyle Harrop, 1989-1995
  • Mr. Kenny Biershank, 1995-2002
  • Mr. Carl Soucek, 2002-present

Carroll’s music department has a history of success and a great reputation among other schools in the state.  Hundreds of trophies received over the past 50 years line the walls of the band room.  Carroll’s band made its first public appearance on April 26, 1964 at the spring musical,Of the People.  On October 5, 1968, Carroll’s Marching Band performed publicly for the first time.  In 1970, Mr. David Luzio initiated the first band class within the school day.

Carroll High School is even listed as one of the powerhouses of the nation in the BOA Hall of Champions as being the 1983 Division A Grand National Champion!  In those days, under the leadership of Mr. Luzio, the band and drill team consisted of over 150 members and used a unique and difficult precision drill style used by very few schools at the time.   Mr. Luzio also helped create the Carrolleers, parents dedicated to raising money for the band and drill team, along with Dr. Laurence Odland.  Dr. Odland was the Carrolleers’ first president in the early 1970’s.

Carroll’s current band directors, Mr. Carl Soucek (2002-present) and Mr. Ryan Griffin ’97 (2008-present), have consistently led the Marching Patriots to the top of the charts at the Mid States Band Association (MSBA) Finals.

If you are interested in participating in the Carroll High School Music Program or the Elementary Instrumental Music Program (EIMP), please contact Mr. Carl Soucek at or call (937) 253-8188 x324.

To see previous Carroll High School Marching Band Performance results, go here.

Carrolleers Meetings (Band Parent Association) occur in Klein Hall (room adjacent to the band room and cafeteria) on the 2nd Thursday of every month at 6:30 p.m.  All are welcome to attend!